top of page
RSS Feed
Hi There

Welcome to the RMIT Student blog of Adriana and Andrea - two Australian postgraduate students who picked up and moved across the globe to embark on a once in a lifetime internship opportunity. These are their stories...

  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
See our latest Tweets...

The Next Chapter Begins..

5.30am

It’s the early hours of the morning and I wake incredibly early. Earlier than usual. It’s not because I want to, it’s because today is different. Today is new, exciting and daunting. I can’t possibly sleep any longer. My stomach is in knots, my mind is filled with thoughts that are moving so fast, I can hardly pin-point a single one to focus on. Today marks the day I’ve been looking forward to for months. Today I am flying to the other side of the work to embark on the opportunity of a lifetime. I wake with one of those strange feelings - a mix of fear and excitement. Fear of the unknown and excitement for what is to come. I know that even though I will be entering a new and unfamiliar world, great things are about to happen. Memories, lessons, encounters - the trip I am about to embark on really does have it all. And as for the goodbyes...well I’m not so excited about that, in fact, I think saying goodbye to the people in my life is what I’m most scared of. As I lay in bed, I catch the thought and think about it for a second, then quickly try to focus on something else before I get worked up. I get up and go for a run to clear my mind.

10.00am

I’m feeling better - I’ve almost organised my luggage and everything is seeming more and more real by the minute. I’m becoming frantic and stressed, worrying that I’ve forgotten to pack something, or that I haven’t got enough copies of personal documents printed. I stop, I take a minute, and I consider the next few hours. This time before my flight is important. I shouldn't be stressed, I should be spending it enjoying the company of my family. I zip up my suitcase and head out for the morning to spend time with my loved ones.

12.30pm

It’s time! The goodbyes are done with and I’m at the airport. The weight of saying goodbye is off my shoulders and I feel amazing. Excited, and not so scared. I meet Andrea and we give each other a big hug. We enter customs in a frantic, excitement fuelled conversation.

2.30pm

The flight is long and I decide to take the chance to simply relax and enjoy being still. I take the time to think and reflect on my career so far and what is about to happen. I come to the conclusion that I needed this opportunity in order to give myself a push in a new direction. I had done all I could at my previous job, and had learned a great deal...but I knew it was the right time to move on. If I hadn’t been presented this opportunity, I don’t know when I would have decided to venture down a new path. In a way though, I guess that is why I decided to apply for this opportunity in the first place. I think I was subconsciously leaving my destiny in the hands of fate. I think about the fact that I’m about to enter a world of many unknowns. Living and being with new people, in a new place, in a new job - with nothing familiar except the bag of belongings I cart by my side. But I am sure. I am sure that it’s in the face of the unknown that one is truly pushed to their boundaries and experiences a sense of heightened self. I close my eyes and enjoy the ride.

bottom of page