top of page
RSS Feed
Hi There

Welcome to the RMIT Student blog of Adriana and Andrea - two Australian postgraduate students who picked up and moved across the globe to embark on a once in a lifetime internship opportunity. These are their stories...

  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
See our latest Tweets...

Adiós Melbourne!

I was walking home from the bus stop when I received the call, informing me that I'd just been awarded the scholarship of a lifetime. I could barely contain my excitement – not only would I be embarking on a three-month trip to Barcelona, but I’d also be gaining incredibly experience in my chosen field of study!! Certainly a dream come true for any uni student, to say the least!

Since then, I’ve been madly rushing around, organising paperwork and catching up with every friend, relative and mentor whom I’ll be leaving behind here in Melbourne. To be honest, it hasn't quite hit me yet, that I won’t be seeing these people for many, many months. I’ve never left the city for more than a few weeks at a time, and always in the company of an old, childhood friend or a family member. As a result, I’m slightly curious to see how I fare these coming months. If all goes well, I'll hopefully be able to increase my level of independence as I navigate around a foreign-speaking country.


With physical preparations underway, I thought I’d take the time to reflect on my expectations regarding this internship. So far, all I understand is that I’ll be raising branding awareness of RMIT Europe. Other than this, I’m completely in the dark… I suppose I’ll have to thrust myself in this role and see what exciting matters come my way!

In the meantime, I’m hoping to brush up on my cultural knowledge before venturing over to Spain. With this thought in mind, dear reader, I’m hoping I can let you in on a little secret. You seem trusting enough, so here it goes… By day, I’m a Business student who churns out financial reports and other such things.

But by night, I’m a wildly passionate salsa dancer.

Yes, you heard correctly. In fact, I’m so crazy about salsa dancing, I’ve volunteered to become become the Financial Treasurer of the RMIT Latin Dance Collective – a club that runs latin dance classes for RMIT members. Every Sunday evening without fail, I go to the Night Cat in Fitzroy where I salsa the night away. I've even got a pair of professional dance heels, covered in gaudy glitter. Therefore, I see this internship an an incredible opportunity to strengthen my knowledge of the Spanish culture (not to mention to dance with all the Spanish men!!).


All jokes aside, I can’t express enough how truly honoured I feel to be working for RMIT uni. I hope this amazing experience will allow me to use my theoretical knowledge acquired from my marketing studies in a practical context. I’ll gain a great sense of pride, being able to give back to uni by promoting the brand to fellow undergraduate and postgraduate students.


With these reflections in mind, I look forward to heading off to Barcelona and starting my internship very soon.


Adiós Melbourne!

bottom of page